Skip to content

Butterfly Races

May 31, 2010

Once in a while, several unrelated needs converge in one perfect solution .  There’s a word for that, I’m sure,  though I can’t come up with it to save my life. 

At this moment, I need 3 things:

a)  a quilt to enter in the Fryeburg Fair this fall;

b)  a quilt for my grand neice’s “grown-up” bed;

c) some pleasant and portable stitching to take on a month-long journey out West (we leave on Wednesday).

The answer:  a butterfly quilt!  Chloe will love it at age 6, but won’t outgrow it by the time she’s 16.  I can work the applique blocks one at a time while traveling, and get it quilted in time for the fair.  Perfect! 

So I’m off to the races with my butterflies.  Will I finish in time for the fair?  Stay tuned …..

The quilt in the photo is a lap quilt I made in 2005 as a wedding gift for my friend and co-worker, Helen.  The pattern is “September Butterfly,” by Lisa Boyer, author of That Dorky Homemade Look and Stash Envy 

The story of this quilt is another example of  convergence, though of a different kind. 

Helen and her fiance made a trip to Hawaii.  Upon her return, she told me about a lovely quilt she saw there, and her disappointment that the quilt was not for sale, only the pattern. 

Hmmm …. I thought, was this a potential wedding gift? 

Checking out Lisa Boyer’s web site, I found the pattern, with this annotation:  “I was just sewing the binding onto this quilt when I happened to turn on the television–on the morning of September 11, 2001. Up until that day, I hadn’t selected a name. I decided to dedicate this quilt to all those souls who were set free that day.”

I knew instantly that this was the quilt I must make for Helen.  You see, on the morning that Lisa was sewing the binding on her quilt, Helen and I escaped together from the 67th floor of 2 World Trade Center (the South Tower).  We’ve been close friends ever since.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2010 11:01 AM

    Oh my what a story behind the quilt for your friend.. Its beautiful, I’m sure your niece will love it. Have a safe and pleasant journey..

  2. May 31, 2010 11:22 AM

    I am stunned Margaret, as of course I had no idea. Hugs to you, especially today, my faraway friend. If the patchwork of your life were a quilt, a colorful one it would surely be. The butterfly quilt is just lovely by the way.

  3. Margaret permalink
    May 31, 2010 1:45 PM

    Let us always, and on this Memorial Day especially, remember all those who gave their lives to keep us free, as well as those who have lost their lives to the enemies of freedom.

  4. Jodi permalink
    July 14, 2010 10:53 AM

    I just by chance wonder onto this quilt. Bingo…I had made a hanky quilt and just can’t decide on the boarder. This may do the trick.

Leave a comment